Table Rock ’08 – FREE

28 06 2008

Youth camps at Table Rock were so good this year!

I was on staff this year with some of the best and talented youth pastors I’ve ever known. Props to James Henderson for being an incredible leader. A lot of people had doubts that he would be able to handle the responsibility, but he has proven himself totally capable. What was even cooler was to see him pray and even weep for the teens of our district. James has a passion for teen ministry and loves every one of our district’s youths (I will fight you if you say otherwise). Camp without Heath and Matt was different, but was still so very good.

Our A/V team was rockin’! Dustin Wilson was in charge of the evening services (and he also headed up the entire design of the camp…logos, stage, t-shirts, banners, etc…). Jim Hanson operated the computer for the services. Nate George was our photographer and videographer. And I ran sound and lights. So much fun!

Rick Gilbert wrote and led our TAWG – Time Alone With God. He did a great job! It really seemed as though the teens were much more involved with TAWG than they have been since I’ve been working with the camp.

We had two ministry teams: one from SWU and one from IWU. They did a great job! Wednesday night of Senior High, they collaborated to perform a rendition of this skit. Greatest skit ever! Prove me wrong…

My roomie, Cody Thomas, led worship with Hidden Presence backing him up. Kindel Smith and Hannah Wilson also added their talents to the group. Worship was awesome. There were times when I would have believed that over a thousand people were singing.

Steve pulled out two crazy drum solos. He rocked it pretty hard. I thought at one point that my head would explode from the sheer awesome-ness. I also got to lead the primal yell…not once, but twice. I nearly died both times. Kevin DeRossett basically passed out the first time.

Activities for the week included the revived Tube-A-Mania (no serious injuries this year!), a trip to a water park in Georgia, Wet-n-Wild Wednesday, Table Rock State Park, Cone War!, dodgeball and so much more!

My Bethany Boys won the gong show again for choreographing a dance to the Hannah Montana song, “I’ve Got Nerve.” It was so incredible! On Friday, they named the group “The Brady Boys.” It was quite the honor. It was sad, though, to not be the counselor in Bethany Cottage for the first time in four years.

The speaker for Junior High was Christian Chapman. Christian is an itinerant speaker for Kingdom Building Ministries. He is originally from Kannapolis, NC (which is where I lived for 5 years). My step-dad used to play softball against him. He was a great speaker and has a boldness of the gospel the likes of which I have never seen. Many of the teens responded to Christ’s love for the first time or to God’s call in their lives.

Senior High was graced with the great Derik Idol. Derik is the senior high youth pastor at Heritage Wesleyan Church in Iowa. He is the former youth pastor at Shady Grove Wesleyan Church in Colfax, NC. Derik brought the truth! Many students got rid of some scars, met Jesus for the first time, or nailed their sins to the cross of Christ.

Last night, we had a special service. We acquired a large pool and had a baptism service right there in the tabernacle. About 15 teens and college students got baptized. It was so cool!

God showed up. Camp was incredible. Lots of memories. Can’t wait until next year!

Actions

Information

6 responses

28 06 2008
Bethany

man i wanna be a camper again. good times.
maybe i should ‘counsel’ instead. bahh. i miss nature & God mix. mmm.

28 06 2008
dustinwilson

Hannah is now a Hannah Wilson. I love my wife.

Camp was amazing. We have such a great team. I loved every min. of it. Great Job now.

28 06 2008
Jon Brady

Wow, I didn’t even realize that I typed that.

28 06 2008
arampey

hey brady,

It is great to hear that things went GREAT! I am just bummed i had to work and couldn’t come!

30 06 2008
christiann254

I totally agree with camp this year! It was such a HUGE blessing to get to come out there even if it was only one week!!!

2 07 2008
Kristyn

Good ol’ SC camp… the beauty. Always good times. -Dees

Leave a Reply

